Merry Belated Christmas

So, I finally made it home.  It feels surprisingly good to be back.  Hope everyone had a Merry Christmas!  I especially hope everyone got that one thing on their list that they were really looking for.

Back to business, I realized how hypocritical I am when it comes to my vacations at work.  I spend most of my time thinking about how nice it would be to have a few days off to relax and just do absolutely nothing.  But when I’m faced with the reality of this exact thing I had been hoping for, I feel miserably bored.  All I can think about is how I need to find something to do so I’m not sitting around the house doing nothing.

But why is that such a bad thing?  I know the second I get back to working again I’m going to feel jealous of people who don’t have a thing to do all day.  I’ll be thinking about how nice it would be to sit on my couch and make no contributions to society.

Is this just symbolic of the lives we lead?  A never-ending circle of discontent?  Always searching and chasing after something that we think we can’t have, only to discard it and move to better (or the same old) pastures all over again?  Why can’t where we are ever be good enough?  I mean, it’s the peaks and valleys of life that really make it interesting.  If our lives were nothing but prolonged normalcy, who would want to live them?  Perhaps I’ll quit pretending to live in the moment and actually do it.

About mandmeisterx

I'm an every man who likes to rant. So I thought, why not give people a chance to read some of them. I'll try to post occasional music videos and other things that interest me, as well.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.